Spring Time Allergies Don’t Need to Bloom

Spring time brings flowers and newness, but for some people, spring time also brings on the allergies. And, what a bother allergies can be!

Over twenty years ago, during the spring, my sinuses were plugged for weeks. This went on for a few years and I would pray for God to heal me. Oh, my prayers were insightful and intellectually wonderful, but my nose was still plugged.

One day, I went for a walk. We lived on an orchard so I had to walk through flowering trees, bursting with pollen. The pollen was necessary for the fruit. How could something be so good, yet so bad?

But, during the walk, I got the notion to return home and look up the word “allergy” in the dictionary. So, I did.

The first definition of allergy described the physical reaction I was all too familiar with. But, there was a second definition of “antipathy,” which means hate. I sat there for a minute and contemplated hate. I didn’t hate anyone. But, deep in the abyss of thought I did hate when the wind made working on the farm difficult. At first this hate seemed so minor, so justified, that I almost blew it off, but I found a verse in the Bible that shed light on an inspiration, “Hate what is evil, cling to what is good.” (Rom. 12:9, NIV) I decided I needed to hate hate, because hate is an evil, not from God, Love. In order to cling to good, hate, in any form, could not be allowed to cling to me, or clog my nose!

To cling to good was my only medicine. The allergy didn’t disappear over night. It eventually went away, however, it returned the next spring, only it was a bit weaker. The next year, it was unnoticeable. And, for the next twenty years it rarely shows up. Clinging to good takes constant exercise. But, Love is constant and the results of exercising love are worth it. Especially when my husband and I drove our motorcycles across the country, because sneezing and blowing your nose while you have a helmet on doesn’t work!

“Evil thoughts, lusts, and malicious purposes cannot go forth, like wandering pollen, from one human mind to another, finding unsuspected lodgement, if virtue and truth build a strong defence.”–Mary Baker Eddy

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Spring Time Allergies Don’t Need to Bloom

  1. annie June 4, 2010 at 5:47 pm Reply

    i love this; never would have correlated the two. thanks

  2. […] flowering deserts, and galaxies—all point to Mind, the spiritual intelligence they reflect. The floral apostles are hieroglyphs of Deity. Quantum mechanics, gravity, and the cosmos teach grand lessons. The stars make night […]

  3. […] no one begrudges a dandelion-less lawn, the pretty yellow flowers do not need to discombobulate our thought process. Everything our physical […]

  4. Mind Medicine | Healing Science Today March 21, 2013 at 10:44 am Reply

    […] The medicine of divine Mind is divine Mind. The nature and the character of Mind, Truth, is the remedy for error of every kind. The medicine of divine Mind is unlike the temporal medicines of human minds and their inventions. In divine science, the human mind yields to divine Mind and relies on God for healing. […]

  5. […] I wonder: Is there something in my life that seems really scary? Can I use it for good? […]

  6. […] flash: That means I don’t have a physical body that is being updated or healed, but that health is continuously being manifest in […]

  7. […] you that you had eggs, you would have made yourself sick. Believe what you want. If you want to be allergic to eggs, by golly be […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.