Respect for God is true respect for people

I constantly meet people on spiritual journeys. And, I learn immense powerful lessons from them. Yesterday, I met with Jesse and our conversation shed light in a few dark corners of our minds. Jesse told me something intriguing and almost amusing.

We were discussing the human minds tendency to overrate, or worse yet, idolize, people and events. For example, we have no doubt Jesus was a great person, but he too was on a spiritual journey and had to learn life’s lessons.

Jesse recalled the Biblical story when Jesus was eating dinner and a Canaanite woman come to Jesus and asked him, Please, heal my daughter.

Jesus told her he came to help the lost sheep of Israel, not the dogs of Canaan.

But, the Canaanite woman, speaking through the Christ-spirit, said, “Yes, Lord, but even the dogs eat the crumbs that fall from their maters’ table.”

That’s right, we all can have the faith! Christ heals everyone, no matter what their background or ethnicity. Therefore, Jesus, and the mother, did witness to this truth. The daughter was healed.

As a revisionist of Mary Baker Eddy’s Science and Health, I have to remind myself not to put Eddy on some pedestal. Human reverence to a person, or a book, is disrespectful. God, Love, Christ, Truth, Almighty, or whatever term used, is where my reverence must be, than respect will flourish, as it does for Science and Health, Jesus, Jesse, Eddy, and all you other people who help me on my journey.

“Our heavenly Parent, divine Love, did not demand us to worship the personality of Jesus. It is essential to follow the example of the Teacher and his apostles. It is sad that the phrase “serving the Lord” has come so generally to mean public worship instead of daily deeds.”–21st Century Science and Health

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.