Got Married Back in the Olden Days

These are the flowers Doug sent me for our wedding anniversary, yesterday. A dozen roses, very beautiful. I would insert a picture of us on our wedding day, but we got married back in the olden days when they didn’t have digital cameras. And, I don’t have a scanner to scan the yellowing photo.

Doug and I are still going strong. But, being married hasn’t always been easy. The best advice that helped me see past the marriage troubles,  is advice that I found in the Bible, although because practical wise advice is available to the universe, I’m sure this advice is found elsewhere. The advice is basically, what God joined together, don’t bother separating; which coincides with, don’t bother putting together what God didn’t.

Now, what God put together isn’t particular human beings.  God is divine Spirit and deals with spiritual ideas and spiritual beings, therefore God put together compassion, humor, joy, appreciation, aplomb, tenderness, courage, and strength. God did not put together anger, arrogance, resentment, or impatience. And, because it is impossible to add a bit of anger to God’s creation, when I feel angry toward Doug, I back off and peace comes.

Doug has been living 3000 miles away from me since last October. He got a job in Seattle. I’ve been holding down the fort here in upstate New York. Thankfully, the advice I just mentioned above holds true even through space. In fact, divine Science teaches there is no space in Love, God.  Marriage signifies an individual and collective path of spiritual unity with divine Love.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Got Married Back in the Olden Days

  1. […] mean couples have to have the same interests. I have very little interest in sports, whereas, my husband, Doug can listen to a sports game for hours. We do, however, have the same interest in fair play and […]

  2. […] my husband and I got married, I was introduced to the Petersen Christmas traditions. My sister-in-law brought tomato aspic to […]

  3. […] my 28 year marriage, there have been times when I wanted to leave, but when I exercise spirituality—hope, faith, […]

  4. […] example, my husband and I still get on one another’s nerves. Yes, after thirty years. But we know to give one another space and invest in reconciliation. That sounds contradictory […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.