Two Mothers at an Airport in Active Prayer

I’ll never forget it.

A circumstance that showed me that prayer is active.

I was a young mother. We had 2 daughters. I’d planned a trip, to go by myself to a meeting about God with time set aside for quiet prayer. Heehee, I thought. Yipee. This will be a sacred time of rejuvenation. So, before leaving, I worked like a demon getting the house ready for my absence.

What happened? I arrive at the Seattle airport only to find out the plane was delayed 4 hours. Ick. So, I sat down and decided to shift down a few gears, relax. I immediately noticed another young mother, but she had her 2 children with her, along with a diaper bag and other paraphenalia. She was holding the youngest while the older child was fidgeting, sure sign she needed to go to the bathroom.

My conscience was pricked. I asked the mother if she wanted me to take her older child to the bathroom. The mother, humbly, gratefully, wearily said, Yes. Oh, I admit, a shot of shock went through my brain because a mother agreed to let a perfect stranger walk off with her daughter in the Seattle airport, however, I knew, she knew, we were one and the same.

I was not going to let that child out of my sight. I was going to dutifully help with the potty training and take care of the child as if she was mine. We found the restrooms. Of course, I went into the stall with her and helped her. Of course, she had to fiddle with the toilet paper dispenser. Of course, she had to do number 2 and sing a tune while I was wanting to plug my nose. Of course, she had to wash her hands and check out all the sinks and paper towels machines.

After business was done, we wandered back and discussed her blanket and got drinks of water at the water fountains. We checked out the candy machines. I returned the child to a grateful mom and a quieted baby.

Then I heard my name over the intercom. I went to a desk and the airline host looked at me and said, I have you on a flight that leaves as soon as you get to the gate.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Two Mothers at an Airport in Active Prayer

  1. […] myself. Or, embarrass myself, it’s a matter of perspective. But, I’ve been busy writing, traveling, and babysitting our daughter’s pets, and it was until the other day, while walking through town, […]

  2. Prayer II - Everyday Spirituality November 11, 2012 at 5:04 pm Reply

    […] We can refine gratitude. Being grateful is important however being grateful for manifestations of material prosperity and health is seriously different from being grateful for Life, Truth, and Love. It’s hypocritical to thank God only for material things or human ideologies, while forgetting to be grateful for honesty, humility, and hard-work. The rule of spiritual gratitude is that you will live the honesty, humility, and hard-work, not just talk about them. […]

  3. […] try to educate. Fact was, the child was not ours and the mother was to return soon and we wanted the mother to come home to a happy […]

  4. […] the thought to permit. Give permission to do something new, useful to the world, and encouraging to your spiritual […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.