Traveling II: Trusting Old Friends and Meeting New Friends

Yesterday, my week long trip to Seattle came to an end. The airplane ride home to upstate New York was uncomplicated―beside the fact I could not, try as I may, try as I might by twisting and pulling, open the plastic packet of duck sauce to put on the egg roll I ate at the airport in Minneapolis. But, compared to the last trip west, I figured the actual transportation segment of my trip very grand. No delayed planes. I didn’t have to clear a foot of snow off my car. I didn’t have to hack ice out from around the wheels in minus 3 degree weather, or drive in a blizzard, like the last trip I took.

Last night, just after midnight, I walked into the house to Richard greeting me. This is the epitome of bliss. I missed my kitty. Give me cat hair, a litter box, dirty feet, and I am content and jovial. No matter that it was past my bedtime and I was wiped out, Richard and I hugged, wrestled, and played fetch until 2:30 a.m. when finally my eyes rolled to the back of my head and I became unconscious.

Beulah and Betsy, two of my trusty neighbors, came to feed Richard while I was gone. Before leaving, I wisely deposited a typewritten note on the counter dictating the proper amounts of food to leave Richard each day. However, apparently, my 2/3 of a cup per day of dry cat food was taken to mean 2 to 3 cups each day. Richard’s bowl was filled to the brim. Providentially, Richard is able to walk right-on-by too much food, because he did not turn into a fatty.

I did return to snow. The northeast region of the United States had 6” while I was gone. A columnist in the local newspaper depicted this winter as relentless, and most residents would probably agree, but compared to the over 100 inches of snow I’ve participated in shoveling this season, this last 6 inches is not an issue. Most of it had melted by time I arrived on the scene and I thank God for changing seasons. Some “changes” do not appear to be good, but with the goal of spiritual life and love before us, goodness does appear.

For example, on my airplane ride from Minnesota to Albany, I happen to sit next to Aaron, an American in the Military. His unit is stationed in Japan, only miles away from the center of the horrendous recent geological and weather changes occurring there. Aaron was in Japan a few weeks ago and unimaginably, he did not feel a tremor. His unit’s location was untouched. Not even a wave. The unit’s location is now being used as a safe base for people who were in the damaged areas.

Thankfully, human beings can stop resisting change, stop attempting to maintain a mortal condition, and instead seek immortal life and love.

The infamous unopened plastic packet

Richard walking on by

From 21st Century Science and Health:

“You can find in 21st Century Science and Health, how to recognize thoughts that lead to spiritual and physical goodness. You can learn that in this ever-changing world, you can change for the better. We can make responsible choices as our knowledge of immortal good increases.”

“Meditation cannot change the Science of spiritual existence, but it brings us into sync with this scientific existence.

“Repetitive requests bring to mortals only what they believe will be the result. A desire for spirituality is requisite in order to gain spirituality; but if we desire it above all else, we will surrender everything for spirituality. We must be willing to do this, to walk securely in the only practical road to spirituality. Prayer can’t change the unalterable Truth, nor can prayer alone give us an understanding of Truth. Prayer, attached to an eager consistent intent to know and do God’s will, will bring us into all Truth. This prayer really has little need of audible expression. It is best expressed in thought and in life.

“The ordinary theological views of atonement will continue to change and improve, just as opinions regarding predestination and future punishment have evolved.

“Belief is changeable, but spiritual understanding is changeless.

“Man and woman are not a dichotomy of non-intelligence and intelligence. Soul, substance, is God, unchangeable and intelligent; and we coexist with and reflect Soul, God, for we are God’s image.”

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Traveling II: Trusting Old Friends and Meeting New Friends

  1. annie March 28, 2011 at 8:43 am Reply

    welcome home…

  2. […] landscape and blesses the galaxy. Not human beings, but living beings, made in Soul’s likeness, possess and reflect God’s dominion to bless the […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.