A thing to do in time

My last week was a kaleidoscope of time periods, no one time period more distinguishable than another. 

On a whole, it was a glimpse of eternity. A glimpse of, no time.

My husband and I traveled to visit family on the other side of the United States.

We stayed with his family most. Although we’ve been connected by marriage for thirty-eight years, I can’t remember a time without knowing and loving them.

My husband and I also stayed one night at a cabin in which I went to regularly on weekends with my family. Many of the old knick-knacks still hang on the wall and sit on the shelves. Weird hot-chocolate cups, still there.

With that sameness, came evergreen trees in the forest that have filled in and reorganized the scene. The spaces we used for sledding, walking, and corralling horses, we can’t so much anymore. Yet, it felt like yesterday when we were sledding on snow and walking and riding through the woods.

The potential to do that, and more, is still there.

Good memories, bad memories, mostly good memories. But it felt like one big blob. Is it a dream?

I guess it doesn’t matter if it was a dream or reality because all those thoughts together can glorify God, the love I have and do feel despite an inability to define it clearly. 

When I watched the sun rise over the tree tops and felt the breeze that moved the tree branches, I could glimpse an unending life that survives my dreams and realities.

I will extol the Lord at all times;
    his praise will always be on my lips.
I will glory in the Lord;
    let the afflicted hear and rejoice.
Glorify the Lord with me;
    let us exalt his name together.—Ps. 34: 1-3

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.