Different approaches to cleaning

Is love blind, or does love see what the human eye can’t see?
This weekend was a typical weekend. I am patient with Doug as it literally takes him 33 hours to clean the bathroom. Yes, I love him, even though he puts the cleaning tools in the bathroom and goes off to do something else.
The cleaning tools continue to rest on the counter. I don’t know if he forgets or what, but he will eventually get the bathroom cleaned, though I might have to remind him again.
Love sees that this marriage is not one sided.We may have different approaches to cleaning, but the love is the same; patient and mindful.
Last night, I woke Doug up from a sound sleep because I was taking 33 hours to go to sleep. I do not like those nights— loud with insomnia. And Doug will get up and read out loud to me from scripture of other inspired books.
Last night Doug read from Miscellaneous Writings by Mary Baker Eddy and I heard the idea that I don’t have to be affected by the loud human mind.
Jesus was temporarily perceptible to the human senses on this world, but he showed me that his thought continued to ascend, become more and more spiritual. Or, rather less and less affected by the material world. I can practice this.
I went to sleep, thankful to Doug for loving me.
“God calls us to live in peace. How do you know, wife, whether you will save your husband? Or, how do you know, husband, whether you will save your wife?” (I Cor 7:15-16, NIV)

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.