Individuals within the collective

A dance teacher told me, “When I teach a class, I teach each student individually according to their talent and skill.” Yet, she teaches a class, a collection of individuals.

This topic fascinates me.

I know I am an individual separate from other people, however, I also know we all are connected.

The fact we are connected shows me that unity or compromises are possible. The fact we are individual shows me we all are important and conform to God, good, not to other human beings.

The fact we are separate also shows me I must take each individual step to reach the goal of unity and peace.

When I only think about how we all are connected, I get fantastical notions and try to take on the world. I try to solve all the problems at once. It doesn’t work. I must respect and take each step on my life journey. I can’t expect someone else to take a step for me, although I can use their example to follow.

From 21st Century Science and Health, “Smothering Jesus with emotional affection, or claiming to be a devoted follower, will never alone make you like him. You must “go and do likewise,”[1] or you are not improving the great blessings that he worked and suffered to offer you. The spirituality of the Christ was made manifest in the humanity of Jesus.

“Spiritual harmony constitutes individual and collective happiness, strength, and permanence.”

[1] Luke 10:37

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

