Thanksgiving and Salvation

When I think about “salvation” I think about deliverance from all the things I don’t like, sickness, worry, and hate. It seems as if salvation is the activity of voiding out negatives from my life. But, when I expand my thinking on salvation or deliverance, I realize that when the negative is gone, there must be something in its place.

There is no absence of anything in the world. So if my hate is gone, then I must have love. If my worry is gone, I must have peace. If I’m delivered from sickness, I must have health.

The definition for the Hebrew word, “salvation” is indeed, something saved, or deliverance, aid, victory, prosperity, health, welfare.

We have the story of “Jonah and the Whale” in the Bible. It’s a new way for me to look at not only salvation, but also thanksgiving. With the Thanksgiving holiday nigh, I’ve enjoyed prayerful time pondering how salvation is a time for thanksgiving for all the good already established by God, that is in place. I can keep letting go of the negatives, but need to remember to super acknowledge the spiritual and tangible good already in place.

Read below, Jonah 2:1-2, 7-10

Then Jonah prayed to the Lord his God from the belly of the fish, saying,

“I called out to the Lord, out of my distress,
and he answered me;

When my life was fainting away,
I remembered the Lord,
and my prayer came to you,
into your holy temple.
Those who pay regard to vain idols
forsake their hope of steadfast love.
But I with the voice of thanksgiving
will sacrifice to you;
what I have vowed I will pay.
Salvation belongs to the Lord!”

10 And the Lord spoke to the fish, and it vomited Jonah out upon the dry land.

puddly josie looking down

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

