Restoration keeps on ticking

Restoration has a strong arm in the psyche of humanity. I attribute it to the hidden force of God, Love.

“I don’t go to church but I wanted to contribute to the community, so I asked the United Ministry church if they’d let me restore their tower clock,” said my neighbor.

???????????????????????????????After months of cleaning and refabricating some bearings, the clock began ticking forward and chiming hourly a few weeks ago. My neighbor said, “I hope people hear the bells and realize that sound shows they all are connected.”

My neighbor is a happy guy, spritely for his age of 70 years. He is an electrical engineer by trade and has multiple hobbies, one of which is repairing watches and clocks.

The hundred year old clock tower hasn’t kept time for a couple of decades. My neighbor asked to investigate and found an E. Howard clock with bells and chimes.

“It’s a well-made clock but between worn out parts, a fire and later a bolt of lightning it needed restoration in order to work again,” said neighbor.

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens.” Ecclesiastes 3:1

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Restoration keeps on ticking

  1. Anita January 14, 2015 at 8:30 am Reply

    That was beautiful. Thanks for sharing this sweet story.

  2. Alexis Wittman January 14, 2015 at 10:45 pm Reply

    How cool the neighbor’s talents could bless the larger community.

Leave a Reply

