Faith and thinking

As an advocate for both thinking spiritually and for faith, I was taken aback the other day when a person referred to thinking and faith as two separate entities. He stressed that “faith” not “thinking” was key to getting to heaven because it is God’s doing, not ours.

First off, I don’t think we die and go to heaven or hell. We don’t really die. Our consciousness of love goes on to live no matter what the physical body does, however in the meantime the consciousness of hate does die.

But, this proposed disconnect between thinking and faith at this level of earthly experience intrigued me. It seemed to assume my thinking wasn’t all that important because God does all the work. God will make me think better if I only have faith.

There is some truth to this, when faith is true to God.

Sometimes, I do rely too much on my “thinking” and prayers become intellectual exercises. I try to self-medicate myself with godly cliches. But, faith is an intellectual exercise. We have to think about faith, what we have faith in…

Thinking and faith can’t be divided. I think the key is checks and balances.

Too much thinking and psychobabble takes over.

Too much faith and stupidity takes over.

The main core of Christ Jesus’ teachings is aimed at thinking better, thinking spiritually, yet he commended faith on many occasions.

Instructing ourselves to think better or have more faith misses the point. We can instead get to know spiritual thoughts and faith.

When I was a young mother, I was so afraid for the children. The fear lessened when words in Science and Health charged my thinking to new thoughts.

It was a definition in the Glossary.

“Abraham…faith in the divine Life and in the eternal Principle of being…This patriarch illustrated the purpose of Love to create trust in good.”

Abraham’s thinking improved during his life, as it was grounded on a faith in good that showed thoughts of eternal life.

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

