Did Jesus resurrect, or did we?

Cheryl and Richard discuss Jesus’ resurrection.

After the resurrection, the disciple, Thomas, had to touch Jesus before believing he had risen. This was Jesus’ response:

“‘Have you believed because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.’” (John 20:29, ESV)

Cheryl: I can grasp this verse intellectually, but I wonder how I can apply “believing without seeing” in my everyday life. Does it mean that Christ is present, right now, here, even though I can’t see Jesus?

Richard: I don’t look at Jesus Christ as Jesus Christ. I look at Christ as Christ Jesus. Christ Cheryl, Christ Richard. A teacher once said to a student, “If there is a God, let me see it, touch it, feel it.” The students reply was, “If you have a mind, let me see it, let me touch it, let me feel it.” End of discussion. We are the manifestation of Christ. It’s not a matter of believing, it’s a matter on knowing.

Cheryl: As a news reporter, I work with a lot of different people. I want to believe and see Christ as expressed by all these people.

Richard: I agree. Where you see love, compassion, kindness, and truth in whatever form, you see the Christ in action.

Cheryl: When I feel grumpy or meet mean people, it seems as though Christ has been killed again. Do you think the “blessing” can reappear if I believe Christ can continue to be risen?

Richard: In reality, the truth stands on its own, so, Christ can never be killed, but like Thomas, when we are afraid or suspicious, we are basically dead to Christ. Human beings sometimes refuse to acknowledge the truth, and when we are able to see the truth, it feels as though Christ has risen.

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

