Seeing what you believe

Posted by Richard Fischer:

About 8 eight years ago I realized the importance of truth. Truth is just that, there is no substitute, it is what it is, and no matter what we think, or try to tell ourselves, truth will always stand on its own.

I went to a Church of Christ, Scientist, in Washington State. I made some wonderful friends. One family in particular became very close to me. I would see the parents with their two children, and often a foster child, twice a week for three years. One of the daughters eventually left home to venture in life. We all missed her dearly. Moreover, every time she came home to visit, I would show up at the door just to visit. The young lady made the comment to me, “One Mind I guess, you always seem to know when I’m coming home.

A few years later, the family moved away. We still kept in touch and I learned that the daughter would be visiting our city for a few days. I told my wife how sad I felt that Leah is coming home and I won’t be able to see her. Maybe ego got involved because I was so sad that I didn’t make an effort to see Leah.

Soon after, my wife and I went to a Fred Meyer store to shop. As I was waiting for my wife in the store, a young lady stood in front of me, smiling. I thought I was in her way, so I said, “excuse me” and moved my cart out of the way. She didn’t move and kept smiling, and I moved over more. She didn’t move and kept smiling and now I was embarrassed. I finally said to her, “OK I guess you know me?” She smiled and shook her head yes. I then said, “and I guess I know you too right?” Again she shook her head yes. I then said, “OK I give up, who are you?” She smiled and said “Leah.”

I didn’t know what to do, I was so embarrassed. I ran over to her and gave her a big hug and said “of course it’s you.” She had grown into her own person. We spoke for a while and went our own ways. I felt so blessed to be able to see her.

That evening I remember thinking, “how come I didn’t recognize her? She hadn’t changed at all in her looks, and yet, I couldn’t see her.” Standing three feet away and I couldn’t see the truth before me. Why? I kept asking myself, Why?

I know why now.

I told myself that I wouldn’t be able to see her in the old way I’d seen her before. I believed I wouldn’t be able to see her. Low and behold, she stood three feet from me, and I couldn’t see her.

believe what seeIsn’t life just like that? We are told we get carsick, so we get sick. We are told these people or that religion is bad so we believe that. We carry all these beliefs with us which blinds our future.

I remember reading the child’s version of the Bible. Lots of people would say, “That’s not the Bible, and I’m wasting my time.” But it isn’t true. I knew I was getting truth in an easier version so I too could understand.

I finally found a revised book of Science and Health by Mary Baker Eddy, and I can understand the meaning and concepts of the faith. The book, 21st Century Science and Health makes people in the churches of Christ, Scientist freak out, but I believe they refuse to see the truth of Christian Science because of their fear of growing.

We tell ourselves for so long that we can’t do this or that, and we soon believe it. I want my world and Universe to be much bigger than that. I believe all things are possible, and to share truth and its progress is possible. We can believe in, and see, progress and positive things and people.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

