Tweaking the approach to healing

After getting married, I began teaching myself how to cook. I made cookies when I was a kid, however, as much as I’d like to, I figured my husband and I couldn’t live off cookies. So, out came the rice.

Looked simple enough. I filled a pot with water, threw in rice kernels and brought it to a boil. I boiled it until it was done. Always turned out rather mushy, but my husband knew better than to complain.

Then one day, we had dinner with my brother and sister-in-law. I watched them make rice. After bringing the water to a boil, they turned the burner to simmer. Thinking this was a waste of time, I mentioned my technique of keeping the water at a rolling boil.

My brother showed me the directions on the back of the bag. Hmmmm. Yes, indeed, the recommendation was to lower the heat to a simmer and leave on the stove for 30 minutes.

The rice turned out better than I’d made. So, I took up this method of cooking rice in the future. The end result is not nearly as mushy.

It’s amazing what a little change in technique can do.

When I’m praying for healing, I refer often to something Christ Jesus was credited to saying, “Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.” (Matt. 5:48)

Logic has it that if God is perfect and God made me in His likeness, then I too must have access to this perfection.

But all too often I pray with the intent to be perfect now, rather than aim for perfection, which impacts the effect of my prayers differently.

If I try to be perfect, pray to be perfect, I become discouraged, for the mere fact that there is no perfect human being or human existence. So, I tweak my prayers.

I can feel a sense of perfection when I am aiming for perfection.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

