Moses and regulations for cleanliness

The biblical book of Leviticus is filled with instructions on some rather gory circumstances. Regulations abound concerning skin infections and bodily discharges, causing uncleanness. (Lev. 14-15)

Leviticus 15:1 reads, “The Lord said to Moses and Aaron, Speak to the Israelites and say to them: “When any man has a bodily discharge, the discharge is unclean.”

Moses then gives the people a mountain of regulations dealing with the uncleanness.

Living in the 21st century, and in a society that values cleanness, these statements seems outmoded. However, I can take a mental view of situations. I can keep my mind clean.

When I find myself in the presence of negative minded people, I respect the ability to regulate myself and not touch the negative thinking.

I admit, I’ve failed a few times, and touched the negative thinking, only to feel unclean later. Now, I try to excuse myself from a group of people who are voicing opinions as if they are truth, or I change the subject to something more useful.

From 21st Century Science and Health, “Science not only reveals reasonable possibilities but also prompts human beings to discover what God has already done. You must trust your ability to experience goodness and to bring out better and higher results. Don’t become a sluggard. Be alert so as to save yourself from the possibility of failure.”

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

