We Don’t Have a Bossy God

Granted, I can be bossy, but if someone doesn’t do what I tell them to do, I don’t start a plague or cause terrible times to befall on them.

I pretty much move on in the direction I feel I am being inspired to move in and pray for peace for all of us.

However, I’ve noticed that God is plastered with the reputation of being not only bossy but cruel. This idea of a bossy heartless God is a meme that has penetrated the millenniums.

A meme is an idea that spreads from person to person within a culture. Thankfully, memes can be advanced and improved upon to the point that they are healing.

Let’s look at the culture of Bible readers.

I grew up reading the King James Version of the Bible and its 10 commandments stressing “THOU SHALT NOT.” This idea of a God standing around barking orders, ready to punish any disobedience, is still a prolific meme in society. Human beings are constantly told by spiritual leaders that they must obey God otherwise trouble comes.

But, when I read in the English Standard Version, “YOU SHALL HAVE,” a peaceful smile comes over me.

I shall have one God.

God made us to have one God. God made us to be and have the image of God before us. God made us to take the name of the Lord seriously, with respect and love. God made us to remember the Sabbath and work for holiness. God made us to honor our parents. God made us to save life. God made us to be faithful. God made us generous. God made us able to bear true witness for our neighbor. God made us to appreciate others and what they have.

God is Love. We are God’s image.

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “We Don’t Have a Bossy God

  1. Julia Weldon May 31, 2012 at 8:02 pm Reply

    What a difference a few words make! God made us . . .! So beautiful and clear.

    • Cheryl Petersen June 2, 2012 at 8:37 am Reply

      Oh yes, the fact that spirit can not be restricted to the human language is very powerful. God speaks to us in the words we understand and need. It is nice. I hope too that you can use the Study Guide when reading 21st Century Science and Health
      Cheryl

  2. Julia Weldon June 1, 2012 at 8:35 am Reply

    Cheryl,

    I’ve just ordered 21st Century Science and Health! I look forward to it.

  3. holly June 9, 2012 at 10:32 am Reply

    Excellent thoughts. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

