Divorce is not easy

Divorce is a major life change that can fiercely boil a pot of fearful, excited thoughts, so much so that they splash out to the surrounding area. For the past few weeks, I’ve been in the vicinity of just such a mental boiling pot. One of my co-workers is going through a nasty, hurtful divorce involving children and she comes to work spilling over with tears or anger. What do I do?
I do exactly what I do when I am in the kitchen and notice a pot boiling over on the stove. I simply turn off the heat. I may even remove the pot from the heat and put it in a cooler place. In other words, I don’t watch the drama, I don’t tell everybody else about the mess; and I don’t avoid it.
In the case concerning my co-worker, turning off the heat is done by refusing to see one-side of the story or discuss past grievances. And, moving thought to a cooler place is done by sticking to the task at hand. If we have a few mintues to speak about her life change, it is from the standpoint of moving forward with wisdom and forgiveness.
My co-worker is calmer and I’m no longer getting splattered by the fear and stress. I was also able to share with her the story of another friend who, though there were some ups-and-downs, made it through a divorce with less stress. Here is my friend’s story.

Colorful God

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

