Anniversary Ride

Doug said, “Cheryl, I want to take you out for lunch.”

Multitasking, I reply while still typing on my keyboard, “What, why?”

“Well, it would be nice.”

I turn to look at Doug. He face beaming with his belief he is real funny. Hmmm, I think.

Oops, I forgot our wedding anniversary again. We laugh. I turn off the computer and say, “Yea, let’s ride our bikes to Maggie’s Krooked Café.”

The day oozed primo motorcycle weather. We put on our helmets and started our bikes. It took about an hour to get to Tannersville, where we found an old building, with crooked, warped, and leaning floors, ceilings, and tables.

We had to go to the bathroom. Doug went first. Krooked Café only has one bathroom. During my turn, I noticed the bathroom stunk and was sticky. At least I knew Doug didn’t contribute to the stink since 29 years ago I trained him to sit when he peed.

Maggie’s Krooked Café was fun to try. Simple, colorful, and friendly. I asked the waitress to take a picture of Doug and me celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary. The waitress took one picture but noticed Doug closed his eyes. As she took another picture, she told us, “When I was kid I thought I was supposed to close my eyes, why wouldn’t I with that glaring flash, so all my school pictures are of me with closed eyes.”

Doug and I ordered one hamburger, to share. In the last 29 years, we’ve learned not to eat as much as we used to but even that one hamburger, which stood about 6 inches, filled us both. When we were done eating, I give Doug a big ridiculous smile. He knows exactly what to do. Look at my teeth to see if any food is stuck in them. Nope, I’m good.

Our ride home was just as easy-going as the ride to Maggie’s Krooked Café. After being married 29 years, Doug and I can communicate without technology. A simple point of the hand, or nod of the head, is about all we need. It’s nice to have a friend.

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Anniversary Ride

  1. Leah Petersen June 25, 2012 at 3:25 pm Reply

    One of my favorites!

  2. Julia Weldon June 28, 2012 at 9:45 am Reply

    Happy Anniversary! What a fun way to celebrate. Today is our 15th anniversary. The two of you look happy, healthy and youthful. And there is clearly a lot of love there.

    I’ve begun reading 21st Century Science and Health and if you are willing I would like to ask you questions regarding it from time to time. May I?

    Thank you for sharing ~ Julia

    • Cheryl Petersen June 29, 2012 at 9:17 am Reply

      Yes, you may ask me questions, Julia, It helps when I am reading to remember that the book is not “telling” me how to think, but is revealing a new view allowing me to ponder further the infinite.
      Happy anniversary to you too!
      Cheryl

  3. babelann June 29, 2013 at 11:40 pm Reply

    Lovely reflection!!! How sweet :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

